Canine Unit

The Fayette County Sheriff’s Office fields one of the most versatile law enforcement canine units in the United States. Currently the Unit has eight canines assigned to the K-9 Unit. They are:

  • One Labrador Retriever (Explosives Detector)
  • Two Belgian Malinois (Narcotics Only)
  • Two Belgian Malinois (Full Service)
  • Three Bloodhounds

The combination of full service canines and bloodhounds gives the Fayette County Sheriff’s Office unparalleled abilities in being able to track and locate individuals.

More Information

The K-9 Unit is commanded by Lieutenant Daniel Thamert. If you have questions concerning the abilities and capabilities of the K-9 Unit, please feel free to contact Lieutenant Thamert directly.